Hop, Skip, Jump BOM Finish

Okay, I really did not intend to have another finish to show this week. I promise. I am such a slow sewer and do not get much done during the week. but, we have an anomaly! I killed it last Sunday.

This quilt actually started a year ago. I signed up for my first BOM (Block of the Month) thru Sew Lux.  They are a fantastic shop that I have become quite fond of. They are located in Raleigh so it’s nice to know that I am supporting a local (well, not really local, but 2 hrs is not TOO far away) store. I already have reservations for the next BOM and for 2 kits arriving in the fall.

Ok, back to the subject at hand. They sent out a new block (fabric and instructions) every month. I procrastinated until about halfway thru and than I caught up and stayed with it. Last Sunday, I pulled out the last block in the series and proceeded to put it together.

Here are all 12 blocks laid out together:

HSJ Blocks

The fabrics look a bit dull in this picture but they have some great coloring to them while feeling a bit vintage at the same time. The fabrics are PB&J by Basic Grey.

As I started packing away the extra fabrics, I thought “why not go ahead and just cut out the sashing and cornerstones so that they would be ready.” Well, than that turned into, “why not just go ahead and get a few blocks sashed” which was followed by “oh hell, just put the whole thing together and be done with it.”

So I did!

PBJ Quilt

Sew Lux had offered up Border/Binding kits to go along with the quilts and as always, I procrastinated and missed out. I looked online and saw that she had yardage available so when I emailed her she was super helpful and nice enough to put together a kit for me and send it out.

I already have the backing for this one so now, it just goes into my pile, to be given to Julie for quilting. Man alive, I have been loading her up lately. Thanks Julie!!!!

The machine has officially been put away for this weekend to spend time with family and friends. Not sure what is up next but I have no shortage of things to choose from. I may get up the nerve one day to show you my to-do list. Its pretty insane. I love it.

🙂

Jess

Linking up to Finish It Up Friday by Crazy Mom Quilts

 

2 Comments

Filed under Finished Quilts

2 responses to “Hop, Skip, Jump BOM Finish

  1. Pingback: Finishing Quilts and Glamping! | Sew Patched Up

  2. I love the idea of trying to get just a little bit done and throwing caution to the wind and doing the whole thing! Maybe you will inspire me to follow suit with a few of my UFOs this long weekend…

Leave a comment