Finish It Up Friday

I am starting to really like these Finish It Up Friday posts. They are very motivating by making me want to carve some time out during the week to sew. Normally, I just reserve that for the weekends.

I finished up 2 things this past week/weekend.

First up, another Swoon block. This one is # 7 of 16. Almost halfway!! This one turned out gorgeous in my color choices. Since these fabrics are cut and ready to go, I already have a pile of 3 more sitting beside my machine.

Swoon 7

One of these days, if I can find room somewhere (maybe outside?), I will lay out what I have and see how they all look together. at 24″ a piece, plus sashing, plus a border…we will never have to tug on covers ever again on our king sized bed. I am making this baby HUGE for that specific reason. Poor Julie. She is going to be cursing me when I eventually hand this one over to be quilted.

The exciting finish for this week was a Noodlehead Divided Basket. Even though this is going to live with me, I am loving it!! Now, I am going to have to ship one out for me. This was made in Salt Water fabrics (of course!) that Julie donated.

Divided Tote 2

This basket seems small until you start putting it together. Its about 6″ deep and 12″ wide. (Those are just guesstimates) Regardless, it can hold a lot of stuff. And lots of stuff it shall hold! That’s the plan anyway.

Divided Tote 1

I did the outer binding a bit differently than the pattern called for. It wanted you to sew it onto one side and than do some flip and press thing and than sew again. whew…way to much work for me. I folded it in half, slid it on and sewed it down. Yes, you can see the stitching but my machine does a fantastic stitch and with the thread blending in, it all worked out.

Divided Tote 3

I used cotton webbing for the handles. This was my first time using cotton webbing and I have to say….HUGE fan here now. This stuff may be making an appearance in more things that I do. I don’t always love fabric handles because handles bear the brunt of anything you make so without proper support (tons of interfacing) they can look worn pretty quickly. But these? I could see these holding up for a long time with a lot of use.

Divided Tote 4

And lastly, a pic of the inside. I didn’t do anything fancy on the interior since my hope is that it will be so full that you won’t see much of it. 🙂

Lots of plans for this weekend…Metro Rings, maybe start on a new venture/idea. Maybe a secret sewing session. We’ll see what the next 2 days hold. Happy Friday everyone!!

🙂

Jess

Linking up to Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It Up Friday

3 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects, Current Projects, Not a Quilt, Sewing Projects, Swoon

3 responses to “Finish It Up Friday

  1. Nancy W.

    I’m making the mini swoon blocks that finish at 8 inches so I loved seeing your swoon blocks. Really so pretty. Looking forward to seeing them all together.

  2. Love the swoon block and the basket…great job!

  3. Liz

    I love how the raccoons pop out of the swoon block! And, nice job with the divided basket. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

