Finish It Up Friday

Well, I don’t have a whole finish for you but I do have a lot of small ones from last weekend. (I don’t sew much during the week)

I have still been working on my Metro Rings quilt. I would have had more done but this girl did a really dumb thing and may have ruined her large cutting mat. I put it in the car to take to a sew day and didn’t lay it flat. Dumb, Dumb, Dumb. If you don’t know anything about cutting mats, when they get hot they conform to whatever surface they are on. Mine conformed to 2 lawn chairs. HUGE, rolling waves in my cutting mat. Ugghhh…I was so mad at myself. I know better than that. In an effort to not have to buy another one, it is currently back in the hot car, weighted down, trying to get flat again. We’ll see.

I got a few more blocks done with fabrics that I had already cut out. (luckily!!) They turned out fantastic! Here are all 4 blocks laid out together:

Metro Rings

I don’t know if I mentioned this in my last post but I wasn’t really happy with the first block that I made. The inside points did not look like the pictures of the pattern. So, after going thru all the steps again on the next block I finally figured out that my problem was in squaring the blocks up. This section of the pattern is the only one that I feel did not live up to my expectations. I decided to hit the internet to see if anyone else had had this problem and lo and behold, I found a website that did a blog post on just that exact thing. It was a lifesaver. So, after following the bloggers directions, I came out with an infinitely better block. Take a look:

Metro Ring Points

Left: First block        Right: Second block

See those points? The one on the left should look more like the one on the right. So glad that I figured it out. The newer ones look so much better. but, without a cutting mat, I couldn’t continue any farther. So, I got out my next project to work on…

My Spinning in the Rain BOM (Block of the Month) from Sew Lux. I figured I could go ahead and get this month’s block done and stay ahead. She also included instructions for making an identical mini block. So, I made it too. Both of these I was able to make in about an hour using my smaller cutting mat.

photo 2 (2)

Aren’t they cute? Since this is a monthly one, I am now able to put these up until July. I like these. No pressure to have to work on them. You just spend an hour one night a month and in a year, you’ll have a stress free quilt!

Sunday morning rolled around and I decided to finish up another bag of Hexi’s while watching some Netflix with the hubby. I snapped a picture of my box. They are slowly growing!

Salt Water Hexi's

Lastly on Sunday afternoon, I decided to whip out another Swoon block. I often forget about this one and I don’t know why. In fact, while the blocks are a bit time consuming, since the fabrics are already cut up and ready to go you would think that it would make it easier. Well, it does, if remember to pull one out to make.

Swoon 6

Swoon 6 of 16

This looks darker in the picture than it is in real life. This one is a slate gray solid with a golden yellow dotted fabric from Tula Pink’s Acacia line. There are gray dots in the yellow fabric. I started working on a second Swoon block last night but came up short on a few pieces of fabric. Apparently when I was cutting out fabric, I forgot my ability to count to 8. Almost halfway there on these blocks!

The Metro Rings quilt and the Swoon quilt are the 2 things that I think I am going to focus on for now. I do have a couple of bag type items that I want to make so if I start getting ancy with either of these, I may start one of those. Who knows, I love the ability to jump in between things. Keeps it interesting!

🙂

Jess

Linking up to Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It Up Friday

6 Comments

Filed under Current Projects, Not a Quilt

6 responses to “Finish It Up Friday

  1. Linda

    I would also like information about properly constructing/trimming the Metro Rings blocks. I am getting blunt ends on my melons too. Thank you!

  2. What site provided the trimming tips on Metro Rings? I’m about to start sewing one myself, and since it will be a gift, I want my points to be accurate.

  3. Lovely hexies you’ve got there. I love hexies too. Would like to see when you start to join them

  4. I love your Metro Rings, super fabrics. And the Spinning in the Rain block looks great too.

  5. I’m intrigued…what’s the plan with the hexies? Impressive collection so far!

    • The Hexi’s are a part of the Hex On The Beach Quilt Kit by Tula Pink. Its pretty much going to be epic…yep, thats the plan…epicness (is that even a word??…lol)

Leave a Reply

