Salt Water Curves – WIP Wednesday

Well, a quilt bug has hit me. For the first time in a while, I found something that peaked my interest and I jumped on it!! When inspiration/motivation hits, you have to strike while the iron is hot.

The pattern that I bought is one that I have looked at in the past, but thought that it was too advanced for me. You see, even though I have paper pieced (like a champ!) and hand quilted, and mastered binding, and even made an Amy Butler Weekender Bag, this quilt has….curves. Lots of curves. Curves and Applique are my 2 fears. I have bought many a kits that require applique and inevitably, I always end up giving them to Julie. (She does it all!!) They just freak me out.

My Work-In-Progress for this week is this pattern, Metro Rings by Sew Kind of Wonderful and I think it is gorgeous.

Metro Rings Pattern

Picture from Sew Kind Of Wonderful

I finally decided that this was it. I was buying this pattern and to make it more interesting, I was going to make it out of Tula Pink fabrics. After all, she makes everything more interesting. Well, her fabrics do. I imagine she would too but I haven’t had the starstruck moment of meeting her. Ok, back on topic.

I picked up these 2 Salt Water jelly rolls (2.5″ strips) from Missouri Quilt Co. If these fabrics look familiar, its because they are the same ones that my Hexi’s are being done with. Can you tell that this is my favorite line of hers??  I already have patterns picked out for all of the other Salt Water fabrics that I own (a charm pack (5″squares) and a fat quarter pack and the second jelly roll below) but they may never get cut up. We’ll see. 🙂

Salt Water Jelly Roll

So, I got to cutting! After a whirlwind weekend of family and fun, this was a nice relaxing morning. Once all my strips were cut and sorted, I started sewing. This was my first batch of curved pieces:

Curved Strip Sets

I took 2 of these and some background fabric (Bella Bleached White) and sewed up my first block.

Metro Rings Block

I used 2 of the same curved strips for this test block. From here out, I am going to make all of the curved sets first so that I can mix and match them in the blocks. Half of my corners will be this pink/coral seashell print and the other half will be a blue print that contrasts nicely.

Believe it or not, I actually can’t wait to continue working on these. No pinning. No hassles with the curves. Sew Kind of Wonderful also has some great video tutorials on how to cut these pieces using her curved ruler and also how to sew the curves. Really took away a lot of the nerves.

And, because I love pictures, I thought I would do 1 more. I don’t have class this summer so in an effort to try to give us back our dining room table, I moved my sewing area to my desk.

Sewing Area

Turns out, all it did was give me the ability to now not only use my desk, but also the ENTIRE dining room table. Oh well, I had good intentions! Not sure if it will last but its a nice change anyway. On a side note. I love having the natural light on this desk. Makes sewing feel really different compared to the yellow toned dining room light.

🙂

Jess

Linking up to Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Salt Water Curves – WIP Wednesday

  1. You tackle those curves like a champ! I can’t wait to see how this turns out – I’m planning a Botanics Metro Curves sometime this summer, and have started giving myself the curve pep talk.

  2. I’ve never seen this method for curves before. I bet I could knock a double wedding ring quilt out of the park with this method. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Those are impressive curves… I am so scared of curves. I still have not been brave enough to try them.

  4. Yea for natural light! Your first block looks great. I’m sure the rest of the quilt will be amazing too.

  5. Those blocks are so cute! Love that fabric too!!! Congrats on conquering one of your fears 🙂

  6. I just discovered your blog. I love you fabrics choices, very colorful and very busy, but still very classy. I added your blog to my reading list.

  7. Your choice of fabric and colours are really beautiful. I agree that the coral and blue work well together. Good luck with your project and look forward to seeing it develop.

  8. Heather @ Quilts Actually

    I feel the same way about that pattern! I love it, but I need to finish up a few other projects before I buy this one. Your version is starting out wonderfully and I’m glad to hear the curves are easy!

Leave a Reply

