Another Finish It Up Friday

So, I guess this whole “Finish it up Friday” thing is becoming a habit around these parts. I don’t get the chance to post every week but I love having a specific day geared towards posting about things that I have finished up.

My big finish for this week? (well, kind of last week but it strayed over into the weekend so we are calling it this week…shhhh!!) Another Sew Together Bag! I was a little afraid of making another one but best friends overtake fears. 🙂 Julie’s birthday is soon and she is a tough pickle to shop for. So, I started thinking about what could I make her instead. No quilts. Goodness gracious, no quilts. Tote bags are a bit time consuming with fabric choices, so I started thinking smaller. Than I realized that she didn’t have a Sew Together Bag. Score!

Reels Sew Together Bag

Sorry for the dark pictures. It was late the night before I was going to give it to her when I remembered to snap a couple of photos.

And, I also realized, I had the perfect outer fabric. Melody Miller’s Reels from way back when. I had come across a small amount of it from an Australian seller and was able to get it shipped pretty cheaply. I than pulled a Navy Essex Linen for the sides and some mustard to go with the reels and the navy.

For the inside, I cut into a new bundle of Pat Bravo ‘s Essentials for Art Gallery. Man alive, I love AG fabrics. They are silky soft. Check them out:

Reels Sew Together Bag
I tried to match the zippers somewhat to the fabrics. I don’t have a great supply of zippers but I thought it turned out nice. There are 2 blues and an eggplant color. The main outside zipper is a navy blue to match the essex linen on the sides.

Now she can fill it up and enjoy! Happy Birthday Julie!!

Oh, and before I go, I did get 3 more Swoon blocks done. Yes, you read that correctly. 3! But don’t cheer for me just yet. Apparently in my chain piecing marathon I messed up a square in the same spot in all 3 blocks. I am a perfectionist so these will have to be ripped out and resewn or it will drive me bonkers. Luckily its on the edge of each one so I can just unpick that square and than Y seam it all back together. They turned out gorgeous though! These are numbers 8,9, & 10. I only have 6 left now and than I can start putting them all together in a real quilt top.

Swoon block
The yellow one below is really a darker, deeper mustard color that plays really nicely with the army green and mustard colors in the flowers.

Swoon block
Swoon block
That’s all folks! Waiting on some more thread before I do any more Metro Rings blocks. Since I am using bright white fabric on that one, I want to make sure that I use the same thread throughout. In an effort to not burn myself out on Swoon blocks, I have a diaper to finish up (a whole other blog post to do) and than I might pull out another project. Not that I have a lack of them.

Oh, Did you guys know that this is No-Buy July?? I am going to try to go with this. I have a couple of prior commitments that I signed up for but since those were done before July, they don’t count. So, it just means no purchases on anything crafty this month. I have needles, thread, and a boatload of fabric and patterns. I should be all set. Wonder how much I could get done if I am not enticed by other, newer, shinier things?? I will report back soon and let you know!

🙂

Jess

Linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts for her Finish It Up Friday

8 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects, Current Projects, Not a Quilt, Swoon

8 responses to “Another Finish It Up Friday

  1. Love my bag!! Thank you sew (hah!) much!! Your swoon blocks are looking fantastic! Can’t wait to see all those yummy blocks together.

  2. Please ignore my previous comment. If I had read your entire post, instead of just drooling over the pictures, I wouldn’t ask such dumb questions!

  3. Love the bag…..and the blocks. Since I’m fairly new to quilting you have to forgive me for asking, is the one hst in the first block facing the wrong way, or was that intentional : )

  4. Is that View Master fabric? LOVE IT!

  5. Love your Sewtogetherbag. I’ve made three so far and they are certainly addictive!

  6. The bag is looking great and so does your blocks! Well done.

Leave a comment