Quilting, Piecing, and some Space Dust

Sometimes I don’t know how to start off a blog post. Hi? Hi y’all? Hola? What’s up yo? What about just, Hello? Ok, Hello.

Whew, now that the awkwardness is behind us, lets move on to the good stuff. And I do mean good stuff. Because anything that begins or ends (or sings in the middle) of Tula Pink is all the goodness I need in life. And, this one ranks right up there. I got to spend the past weekend with Julie and on top of getting 8 Block of the Month blocks done, and 2 other backings, we got this ray of sunshine quilted.

image (5)

I love this quilt. The colors. The design. So much so that I already have another one planned!

Salt Water Curves 2

Close-up of the Nautical themed quilting.

Salt Water Curves

On the frame, being worked on

I just need to get binding made and then get it sewn down. Debating on putting this one in the Fall quilt show here in New Bern. It’s not perfect but it’s pretty dang awesome.

Moving on, but not really too far, is the QAL that I mentioned I was starting. It is being hosted on Instagram by John Adams and Paul Hallinger. The pattern is Space Dust by Tula Pink and I am using the same fabrics that she did in her original design. I have had them hoarded for a while not really knowing what I wanted to do with them. When I saw this happening, I knew it would be perfect.

photo 1

Fabrics picked out, 45 page pattern ready to go

I sat down a couple of weeks ago and got my first row sorted and ready to go.

photo 2

The whole quilt is paper pieced, which I am no stranger too, so I was able to whip up my first few blocks pretty quickly. I will say though, paper piecing with larger sized pieces is much harder than doing it with smaller squares. These bad boys end up being 7″ x 10″ each.

photo 3

After getting the hang of this particular pattern, I was able to get 2 rows busted out in about a week.

photo 4

I am almost done with Row 3 now and I can’t wait to get back to work on this one. The original pattern calls a LOT of extra white to be added to the sides to bring it to a large Queen size. I think I have decided that I am going to leave mine without the sides and make it into a wall hanging for my sewing room. It will be a very large one but how could all this Tula Pink fabric yumminess not be amazing as a backdrop for my new room??!!?

See you soon!

πŸ™‚

Jess

 

Linking up to Freshly Pieced for Work in Progress Wednesday

 

8 Comments

Filed under Current Projects, Finished Quilts

8 responses to “Quilting, Piecing, and some Space Dust

  1. Karen

    Love this quilt! It’s gorgeous!

  2. Both are stunning but Im a fan of your Space Dust πŸ™‚ This is one Ive been contemplating, anything that is paper pieced is a winner in my book πŸ™‚

  3. Kat

    Looking good! I have a mini of this about half done that I really should finish. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. So much Tula fabulousness! Love how you carried the nautical theme through into the quilting on Metro Rings!

  5. So tempted by the QAL. I love that pattern.

    Your DWR is fantastic! Truly amazing and gorgeous as well.

  6. I saw the IG QAL and so it’s fun to see your progress. Love the fabrics

  7. Mina

    Oh, I agree that anything Tula is great! Your projects look awesome

  8. Beautiful work. I love your two bright quilts. Space Dust is so amazing in the Tula Pink I can’t blame you for wanting to stick with the plan. Love your idea to keep it small for the wall.

Leave a Reply

