New Years Eve Fun with Swoon

So, let me preface this by saying that I am not a night person. I am an asleep by 10pm person. I am the girl that doesn’t like to be out late. Yep, at 31. Completely unashamed folks. I like my early mornings.

Ok, moving on. I wanted to stay up for New Years. I haven’t been awake for the ball drop in multiple years. We could possibly be talking about double digits number of years. I knew if I was going to stay awake that I would need something to keep my brain busy.
Enter Swoon. I decided to make my first block.

20140107-143735.jpg
Fabric is Tula Pink’s Acacia and the white background is Kona Honeycomb.

I spent 2 weeks, off and on, cutting all the fabrics for this gigantic quilt. 16 squares. 61 pieces in each square. 976 pieces. I changed out my rotary blade twice. I thought about cutting as I go, but I don’t leave my big cutting mat out and I didn’t want this to get pushed to the side because I may not feel like cutting one day. Its a nice feeling to know that I just need to grab the next block and can be sewing in minutes.

I had some trouble with my flying geese ending up a bit small. I still made it work, but I am going to have to play around with those and see if I can figure out why.

Starch was definitely my best friend and to be honest, after writing out this sentence, that could be what happened to my flying geese. (Starch = smaller/Water = larger)

Also, these blocks are huge! I have read that online but until it is sitting on your table in front of you, it doesn’t compute. At 24″ square, definitely the largest blocks that I have ever worked with.

1 block done. 15 more to go.

Go check out Julie’s!

Oh, and on a side note, I am bound and determined to figure out how to budget myself in order to buy this Tula Pink fabric panel for the back of this quilt.

20140107-144215.jpg
Completely gorgeous! Unfortunately, seeing as how this averages out to $50 a yd (Yikes!) I don’t know that it will actually happen.

Oh, and just cause it’s funny, I will tell you that I was officially asleep at 12:02am on New Years Eve/Day. I watched the clock turn over and was done. Hahahaha!!

🙂
Jess

Leave a comment

Filed under Swoon

Leave a Reply

