Christmas Surprise…The Zelda Quilt

Every year my sisters and I do a secret Santa for gifts. We draw names and have a price limit. For the past year (or more) I have been working on this quilt for a sister. When it came time to draw names, I figured out how to get her name. (I am a sneaky girl!) It was the perfect motivation to get this quilt finished and gifted.

Alright, here it is. The Zelda quilt.

20140105-074746.jpg
Zelda is a strip quilt that was done using 1.5″ pieces. Luckily, it wasn’t my first one so I had a great organizational system in place for all the pieces.

I handed this one off to Julie to quilt for me. It was during finals and I didn’t want either one to suffer in quality. We decided on a simple meander, as to keep the design front and center and blend all the strips together once washed and dried.

20140105-075258.jpg
This was completely made out of Kona cottons. The pattern is from Carolina Patchworks. The backing is a Star Wars comic book fabric that I found on Etsy a long time ago. She loves both and I figured why not. There are no rules in quilting! At least not in my household.

A few more pictures…
All quilted, ready for binding:

20140105-080324.jpg
Binding on and sewn down. Washed and dried:

20140105-080626.jpg
I love how the strips get lost in the quilting and it becomes a large picture from far away and not a patchwork quilt.

It turned out amazing! It took a while to get finished but completely worth the time. I was so excited to give it to her for Christmas. I think she was as happy with it as I was. I hope that it is used often and loved well.

Oh, almost forgot…the quilt label! I do themed quilt labels and I was undecided on which theme to go with on this one, so I did both.

20140105-082111.jpg

🙂
Jess

6 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects, Finished Quilts

6 responses to “Christmas Surprise…The Zelda Quilt

  1. wow it looks amazing great job! i showed it to my boyfriend but prefaced with, “don’t be jealous.” his jaw dropped and he said he is totally jealous, lol. 🙂 can’t wait to see what you make in 2014

    • Thank you!! I love pixeled game quilts. They are a lot of work, but completely worth it in the end. 🙂

      • do you use the interfacing grid method? well i guess strips don’t have to line up as perfectly as squares?

      • No interfacing for me. Everything still has to line up (so your characters don’t look askew) but instead of all 1″ squares (which is way too many pieces, no matter how you put it together!!) her patterns use 1.5″ wide strips that are sewn together to make a row. 8 rows make up a section and 8 sections make up a quilt. A strip can have 1 super long piece that is 60″ x 1.5″ or it can be 20 smaller pieces that are 3″ x 1.5″ sewn together. That’s a big part of why I love her patterns. She doesn’t make you cut and sew 3,000 pieces. She combines what she can into larger pieces.

        Did any of that make sense? 😉

        >

      • yes, makes perfect sense 🙂 who is the lady you are referring to? i just found out about the technique and am making some saddle blankets for my dad’s horses. but my blocks are 3 x 3 and the finished size is only going to be like 30 x 35 so it’s really helping me!

      • Ohh!! You have not discovered Carolina Patchworks yet? I own probably half of her store. 🙂 Carolinapatchworks.com Her store is: carolinapatchworks.bigcartel.com

        >

Leave a Reply

