Chugging Along…

I cannot believe that it is almost August. I feel like the year just started!!

Things have been busy here. I have been working a little each evening on the wedding stuff. I have the Ring Pillow done. The bunting is about halfway there, and the quilt squares are about halfway. That stuff, on top of tailoring some of Mr. SewpatchedUp’s wedding clothes, means that I have a busy few weeks ahead of me.

Changing the subject now…in the evenings I love to sit down and relax for a few before turning in for the night. Instead of spending the time on my iPad (throughly addicted!) I decided to dip my toes into some Cross Stitching. I love handwork (is that a word??), so I figured this may be fun to try out. Floss and needles are so cheap thats its not a big deal if I ended up hating it.

Turns out, I LOVE it! I started with a very small Raccoon Mario that I found on Etsy. (Mr. SewPatchedUp’s request)
This was a picture at the beginning.

20130726-074826.jpg
These stitches are not great because I figured out too late how many strands of floss to use. You know, in all of the internet tutorials about how to Cross Stitch no one tells you that number. Well friends, its 2-3 depending on how full you want your stitching to look. (There are 6 strands to a bundle, i just wrap the rest back up for next time) So, once I got that down pat, I was flying along.

20130726-075310.jpg
Being that it is my first one, I am actually really happy with this. So is Mr. SewPatchedUp.

20130726-081253.jpg
I cut it to size and stuck it in a frame. It now resides in the gaming room/office. I already have the pattern and the floss for a second project. Its another Mario, but this one will actually be a scene from one of the games. I think it will end up being about 20″ wide and 9″ high. I can’t wait to get started.

Do any other quilters/sewers sometimes feel the pull to try something new? I think it is ingrained in you to always be moving towards something new. New projects, new techniques, new ideas. And if you end up not loving it, thats ok too. For me, it’s so much about the process. Yes, seeing the finished product is amazing, but I love the process of getting there. Thats where all the fun is!

Happy Friday!!!

πŸ™‚
Jess

Edited:
Here is the pattern that i am currently starting:
20130726-190225.jpg
You can purchase this and the Mario Raccoon here!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chugging Along…

  1. oooo! do you have a preview of the scene you plan to do? i too am in love with a gamer and i think he would really like that, lol. i originally started with paper crafts and have made my way to quilting. i have always been a fan of cross stitch too. it’s mindless and relaxing, and ends up being amazing. i am currently doing the woodland sampler by the frosted pumpkin stitchery, it’s adorable. i’m not that far along because i just started last month, but can’t wait to see how it all comes together πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

