Batiks, Secrets, and….Potato Chips??

Yep, Potato Chips. No, not the kind you eat. They aren’t as good for you as my potato chips are. Huh you say? Just keep reading…

An excuse first, I have started running again and that is definitely cutting into my sewing and blogging time. So, I am sorry for not posting more. Moving on, I CANNOT believe that it is already June. The past few months have gone by so fast. This is going to be a very fun/exciting month. I have a few things to share with you.

First off, I got my fabrics in last week for the June Tula Pink blocks. Check out this pink/coral yumminess in the picture below. Either my iPhone or the green side of my cutting mat makes them a bit washed out, but they are very rich and vibrant fabrics in person. I can’t wait to start working on these blocks. Or, as the quilting community has come to call them, potato chips. ‘Cause you can’t make just one! (I told you it would make sense…lol)

June's Tula Pink Quilt-Along Fabrics

June’s Tula Pink Quilt-Along Fabrics

Second, I don’t have anything to show off as being in-work/finished since I am working on a super uber secret project that is taking up all of my free time right now. As soon as I am done I promise I will show it off in all its very deserved glory.

AND………….Lastly, I have some very exciting news……Julie and I are going to the Quilt Expo in 2 weeks!! Wooohooo!!!! I am sooo excited! (Can’t you tell by all the exclamation points) 🙂

We are going to Raleigh for 3 days to participate in classes, sew with experts and shop like there is no tomorrow. Ok, well, maybe just a little bit of shopping.  A girl does still have to eat…lol. Since its only an hour and a half away, we are going to go up on Wed evening and come back on Saturday sometime.

One of the classes that I am taking is to make a quilt using strips of fabric and a technique that I am not sure about yet. We will get the book and the rest of the info in the class. I do know that I needed to get contrasting fabrics so I ended up with Batiks. Bright Batiks. Like, hurt your eyes bright. I am drawn to very saturated colors. Both in quilting and in my wardrobe. one thing I am not afraid of is some color. I have never worked with batiks before so I am excited to see how it all comes out.

Super Bright Batiks

Super Bright Batiks

I picked out a white sashing (it has white dots on it) to tone down some of the brights and give your eyes a place to rest. I went with a dark border to contrast the white that will be sitting against it. I think it will ground some of the brights that are in the quilt. We’ll see.

All of the Batik Quilt Fabrics

All of the Batik Quilt Fabrics

I will also be taking 3 other classes:

Machine Quilting: Beyond the Basics – I am excited about this one so that I can learn to do more than just my meandering that has become my normal.

Tumbling Blocks – I have always admired these from afar but have never had the guts to attempt one. They seem so hard! I will be great to learn how to make them now without having to teach myself.

All About Zippers – I am not horrible with zippers by any means but this will be nice to expand my horizons as I don’t feel that I am great.  Plus, if it isn’t a regular zipper than I have no idea what to do with it.

This is going to be such a fun trip and I can’t wait to go soak up as much information as I can.

I have so much on my plate right now that June will be busy but I wouldn’t want it any other way. I  love being able to jump in between projects when I am ready to work on something else for a while. Hopefully my super secret project will be done in the next week and then I can show it off and start working on my potato chips.

Happy June!!

🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Current Projects, Fabric

One response to “Batiks, Secrets, and….Potato Chips??

  1. Pingback: Quilting and Sewing Expo – Classes! | Sew Patched Up

Leave a Reply

