Sew Mama Sew Giveaway Day!!

****Edited to add our winner.

 

WOW!! 196 comments. What a response!!

After double checking the comments below with the emails that I received to make sure I counted correctly and that there were no duplicates, Random.Org chose #66!! Sarah @ nohatsinthehouse.com.  Congrats Sarah!! Just as this was my first giveaway, Sarah also hosted her first one for the Sew Mama Sew giveaway week. Her paper pieced birthstone patterns are calling my name!!

Thank you to everyone who entered. I hate that all of you couldn’t be a winner of this book. I will say though that I  have been given enough reading material to last a lifetime so thank you! (my bank account may not, but I will….hehehe)

And so there are no questions I made sure to screenshot the random.org box

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 8.12.07 PM

______________________________________________________________________________________

I LOVE Giveaway Day!  A TON of awesome giveaways that you can look at and enter  all together in one spot.  Thank you Sew Mama Sew for hosting this super fun event again. I entered a TON of giveaways last year and actually won something! This year, I thought I would pay it forward and offer up something great to giveaway…A brand spankin’ new copy of Tula Pink’s City Sampler – 100 Modern Quilt Blocks.

Tula Pink's City Sampler - 100 Modern Quilt Blocks

Tula Pink’s City Sampler – 100 Modern Quilt Blocks

I am completely in love with my copy and would love to share that love with one of you!! These blocks are small and you can get started making them with fat quarters or fat eights. Even those cuts will make a couple of blocks. This would also be a teriffic scrap buster quilt. Easy peasy!

Tula Pink's City Sampler - 100 Modern Quilt Blocks

Tula Pink’s City Sampler – 100 Modern Quilt Blocks

I am a complete bookaholic (not sure that is a word but it is an accurate description) so….

To enter – Just tell me your favorite Sewing/Quilting book! Or, if you don’t like or have sewing/quilting books, than any book in general. I am not discriminatory when it comes to books. 🙂

Unfortunately, due to rising postal costs this giveaway is not open to international. Sorry!

The giveaway will remain open until May 10 at 5pm PST.  I will let Random.org pick a winner and than they will be notified by email immediately after. If you are a no reply blogger please leave your email in your comment ( please do not make a separate comment for your email) so I will be able to contact you.  If I am unable to contact the winner after a week I will redraw a new one.

 

 

 

 

 

196 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

196 responses to “Sew Mama Sew Giveaway Day!!

  1. emme

    emmevon(at)gmail(dot)com

    still love the book that taught me to sew. the Sew everythign workshop by diana rupp.

  2. Louisa

    I always go back to a Easy Scrap quilt book – one of my first, for inspirations

  3. my fav quilting book is the gees bend book i have on my shelf!

  4. BreannaS

    I like the bag making bible. I am also enjoying reading the hobbit.

  5. I just got Material Obsession 2 and love it.

  6. I LOVE Quilty magazine

  7. Rebeckah

    Christ is a good book. they made a show about it years ago. I remember the ladies getting together for a sewing circle 🙂

  8. kmcassie

    Sunday Morning Quilts is my favorite so far, but each book I see is so inspiring! Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. Diann Cornell

    I like the books by Kumiko Sudo.

  10. Sigrid

    I love Sunday Morning Quilts. Thanks for the giveaway.

  11. Faye

    I just got Sunday Morning Quilts and I’m enjoying it right now. There are several quilts I want to make in it!

  12. I dont have a quilting book I go to as I am fairly new to quilting..I suually just go to the internet

  13. Brenda hulsey

    I love books too! I really don’t have a favorite quilting book but I do have a favorite reading book. It’s Gone with the Wind! I have read it 3 times and of course seen the movie countless times!

  14. Vicki H

    I have several quilting books, but wouldn’t be able to choose a favorite. One of my favorite magazines is Quilter’s World. Thanks

  15. Susan M

    I am working my way through 100 pretty little projects – thank you!

  16. Bee Williams

    I like the Quilters Bible. Though I’m getting more and more interested in modern quilting books.

    likebumble(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. DebbieKL

    I don’t have any quilting books actually! I love Jodi Picoult for fiction. Thanks!

  18. Brittney G.

    Actually, my fav book is a Tula Pink book (her second, I think?) – I love her advice on how to pick fabrics and a quilting motif . . . and all her tips and tricks!

  19. I just received my copy of Patchwork Please, and it looks adorable! 🙂

  20. I’m so glad I saved up and splurged a bit on the Farmers Wife book. I love the blocks, and I love putting them together. Other than that, I have a few sewing reference books from my time doing fashion design that are amazing! But they’re more boring and not as fun 🙂 Thank you for the giveaway!

  21. I love reading sewing/quilting books, but I almost never buy them. I do however have a weakness for magazines. Quilty in particular…

  22. I’m new to quilting and need to build up a quilting book library. This one looks great!

    My favorite sewing book is Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby. I made so many things out of it for my daughter!

  23. I love the new Zakka Projects book!

  24. Nancy

    I love Prayers for Sale.

  25. Ginny G.

    This book is on my Amazon wish list. I am just building my sewing and quilting book library. I have a few but unfortunately it is to late at night for me to remember the names. I do recall that I like them.

  26. 🙂 Favorite quilting book is Freddy Moran and Gwen MArston’s Collaborative Quilting book. LOVE IT!

  27. Jill

    I’m loving Sunday Morning Quilts right now. Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Jenny

    I don’t have a lot and I don’t use them a lot, so I’ll have to say Martha’s Fabric Encyclopedia. I have enjoyed that. Thanks!!

  29. I love love love sewing and quilting books. I have a couple that I go to often, funny thing is I don’t remember the names…sad…

  30. Tamie

    I’d love to add this book to my library. I love the ideas in Sunday Morning Quilts and have Denyse Schmidt’s new book on my list to read. Thanks for participating in the Giveaway Day.

  31. Julie

    I just bought Material Obsession 2. It has so many wonderful quilts. Thanks for the chance.

  32. Tanya

    The Border Book is a book that was recently purchased to try some more in depth borders. Thanks for chance to win.

  33. Shannon

    I love the Sewing Machine Accessory Bible

  34. I like Twist and Turn Bargello. 🙂

  35. I love my Doodle Stitching books and The Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt book.

  36. Erin

    I love Elizabeth Hartman’s Modern Patchwork. Thanks for the opportunity!

  37. I love the Big Book of Best Loved Quilt Patterns!

  38. Larissa

    I like Amy Butler’s books…her precision is so opposite of me, I love it!

  39. Jen

    I love Angela Walters Free Motion Quilting book. It is really great if you are just learning, and I refer to it often.

  40. My favorite is the Modern Quilt Workshop.

  41. kathy h

    My favorite quilt book is Quilts from the Quiltmaker’s Gift. They are the quilts from a children’s book. I have made about half of them and want to make the other half.

  42. Christine

    I like the Schnibbles books. And Bonnie Hunters books also.

  43. Christine

    I love this book and Modern Patchwork by Elizabeth Hartman.

  44. The Mrs.

    I just rented a book from the library by Fat Quarterly about Shapes.

  45. Joyce Carter

    I am not sure if I have been here before or not so if I have please delete this. I love to read and my favorite books to read are anything that is written by James Patterson.Thanks for the giveaway.

  46. My favorite is Modern Patchwork by Elizabeth Hartman. Thanks for the chance to win!

  47. I love Patchwork Please. Every project is so cute! pixelstopatchwork (at) gmail (dot) com.

  48. My favorite sewing book would have to be Sewing clothes kids love.

    detroitgirl77 AT gmail DOT com

  49. Suzanne

    I have made many things from Anna Maria Horner’s HANDMADE BEGINNINGS.
    Thank you for the chance to win this book. I have been eyeing it for awhile!
    Suzanne dot Jourdan at gmail dot com

  50. There are so many. I have always enjoyed the Mary Ellen Hopkins books.

  51. I like one yard wonders. Great for last minute gift ideas!
    peachstateme (at) hotmail (dot) com

  52. Sandra Visser

    I like the Quilts from My Crayon Box book.

  53. Renee G

    My favorite quilting books are some of the ones by Debbie Mumm — especially when she was doing the birdhouses.

  54. I love the Zakka sewing books,, I just started collecting some

  55. Beth

    Oh man, I’ve been eyeing this book. My favorite quilting book is Sunday Morning QuiltS

  56. I love books that shows you how to make blacks

  57. Jo

    I love books at the moment though I seem to be hooked on smuty supernatural romance books…go figure. Thanks for the chance I would love to have a copy of this

  58. jmniffer

    I like the Schnibbles books by Carrie Nelson. Thanks for the chance at your giveaway.

  59. lynn

    i love the One Yard Wonders books and my new fave is Reinvention. thanks!

  60. SS

    I have a book called Pretty Little Mini Quilts that I like

  61. Mara Cockman

    I just ordered my 1st quilting book (Patchwork Please!) and am anxiously awaiting it’s arrival 😉

  62. Allison D

    I really like any of Elizabeth Hartman’s books. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  63. I love the Schnibbles books

  64. brandi

    i have never used a quilting book… my grandmother has tons and she and i look through them sometimes to pick quilts she should make but i’m more of an internet tutorial type girl. so my favorite book(s) ever… harry potter! thanks for the giveaway!

  65. I love Scrap Basket Sensations!

  66. I’m a huge fan of books too! My favorite Quilting Book is Quilting Modern by Jacquie Gering and Katie Pederson. It is full of great improv techniques!

  67. I like Amy Butler’s bag book a lot!

  68. Eve

    I love to make Softies, one of my favorites is Softies only a Mother Could Love.

  69. I thought I left a reply,but can’t find it.Please delete this comment if it’s a duplicate! I love anything by Anna Maria Horner, but I’m just getting started with quilting and love Tula Pink’s style. This book has been on my wishlist ever since I first laid eyes on it! thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  70. Stacy Alfano

    I don’t have a favorite quilting book, but I love looking at any of them! Quilts are amazing eye candy! Thank you!

  71. I just got my copy of Patchwork Please, and it looks like fun! Can’t wait to make something from it!

  72. Jen Beatty

    I love all books, the key is to make it your own with your favorite fabric. Thanks for the opportunity and looking forward to following your blog!

  73. Every since I have seen this book, I have wanted it. It is just a quilting book that I would find easy and fun. This is a really nice giveway that you are offering to the winner. The quilting book I am browsing at home is called Simply Charming Minis by Moose on the Porch Quilts. It is easy and lots of mini quilts shown to make. Thank you for the chance to win.

    Sandi TImmons
    sandit1@sbcglobal.net

  74. I am mostly a knitter and I love Joelle Hoverson’s Last Minute Knitted Gifts. Thanks for the chance!

  75. T

    There are a lot more sewing/quilting books on my wish list than I actually own (I own a ton of knitting books though. Seams to Me is good, so is the Bag Making Bible. Thanks!

  76. T Bosch

    I don’t have any sewing/crafting books.
    sntbosch(at)me(dot)com

  77. libmom-cindy hennes

    I also love Sunday Morning Quilts and all of Tula Pink’s books – there are just so many that I love – many to mention! Thanks for the opportunity to win! I am a librarian so I love all books!!

  78. I’m loving Transparency Quilts by Ringle & Kerr.

  79. My current favorites are the Scrap-Basket series by Kim Bracket.

  80. racergirl1313

    I have been using The Practical Guide to Patchwork the most, but I love all quilting books. They are so beautiful, and fun to look through. Thanks for the giveaway! racergirl1313 AT hotmail DOT com

  81. I’m using my borders books the most often lately, primarily to add borders to the Modern Mini Mystery Roudn Robin blocks that I’ve been adding to each month. Thanks for the chance to win.

  82. I really love Scandinavian Stitches. So many cute projects!

  83. Deb

    Elizabeth Hartman’s modern Patchwork (I think that’s the title). Your giveaway is great, and i’d love to win it.

  84. Binks

    I’m actually more of a magazine girl for quilt patterns and the such. I really enjoy the International Quilt Scene because it’s the best of the best.

  85. Beth T.

    My all time favorite is Modern Quilting by Jacquie Gering and Katie Pedersen.

  86. bee

    i love Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen – not quilting but a fun read!

  87. Maria White

    I love the anne of green gables series 🙂

  88. Jan

    15 Minutes of Play by Victoria Findlay Wolfe

  89. I have used Modern Blocks compiled by Suzanne Woods quite a bit lately! Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  90. I love Quilting Modern!

  91. Emily C

    My favorite book is the Chronicles of Narnia.

  92. Alex Anderson’s Beginning Quilts. I’ve made them all!

  93. I’m not sure that I have a favorite quilting book. I do love reading Christian romance books, esp with some history.

  94. This book is on my to buy list! How fun it would be to win a copy. My favorite quilting book(s) are the material obsessions.

  95. Heather Braun

    My favorite are the only two I have right now Block Party: The Modern Quilting Bee and PillowPop. Both books are gorgeous! Thanks for the sweet giveaway! This book is on my wishlist!

  96. KeriAnn

    I really enjoyed reading “Plain Truth” by Jodi Picoult!

  97. My favorite quilt book is Material Obsession 2. Kathy Doughty is my spirit animal!

  98. Lissa

    The one quilting Book I own is Dare to Be Square by Boo Davis. I made the Skull quilt in blues and blacks for my son.

  99. Rosanna Bontrager

    I don’t any quilting books, but I do have a fair amount of quilting magazines.
    Thanks for the chance to win.

  100. I love all books! My favorite quilting book is the Encyclopedia of Quilt Patterns. I would love to win this one and add it to my collections. Thanks!

  101. Emmers

    I loved Tula’s other book, and I have had my eye on this one – I would love to work my way through those blocks! She has such a way with color 🙂

  102. disneyfam

    No contest the Harry Potter books are my favorite ever.

  103. Heather

    Currently my favorite sewing books is Pillow Pop. I have several I want to make to brighten up my living room.

  104. I don’t have any sewing/quilting books yet, and this one looks like a good one to start learning to quilt (I sew tons of garments and other projects but never a full quilt). A novel I recommend highly is “The Shack” by William P. Young. Thanks!

  105. Hello! I’m currently in love with Storybook Toys by Jill Hamor. It. is. awesome!

  106. Julia

    I have really enjoyed Sunday Morning quilts, even made more then one project. I’d love to add this book to my collection

  107. Dana

    I love Pam and NIcky Lintott Jelly Roll Books, there’s always something I want to make quick and easy in them. Thanks.

  108. Jessica

    My favorite quilting book is Dare to be Square. Thanks for the giveaway!

  109. I love Tula Pinks book right now.

  110. Redeeming Love is my favorite book. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  111. runandsewquilts

    I’ve been enjoying Modern Quilting, but would LOVE this book! Thanks for participating.

  112. I like 101 Small Quilts.

  113. Amanda

    Scrapbasket Surprises by Kim Brackett! I think I have made half the patterns in that book!

  114. I’m in love with the new Patchwork Please!

  115. Jacklynn Grimm

    I just got a copy of the book Skip the Borders by Julie Herman – love her patterns.

  116. I love reading novels- my favorite recent read is Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson. It was adorable!
    Thanks!

  117. jen

    sunday morning quilts

  118. Holly U

    My current favorite quilting book is Stash Therapy: Cut the Scraps. Thanks for this chance to increase my library!

  119. MaryMargaret

    I just checked out Denyse Schmidt’s Modern Quilts book to see if it was one I’d like to purchase; it is! Thanks for the great giveaway!

    xo, Meg

    3rdmargaret at gmail dot com

  120. I love One Yard Wonders! So many great ideas!

  121. OH, I can’t believe you are giving that book away. thanks for a chance. My favorite book is Kaffe Fassett’s Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts.

  122. I love Sunday Morning Quilts as well! Thanks for the giveaway.

  123. Heather

    Such a great prize! I love Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing.

  124. Phoebe

    I do not have a favorite quilting book, but I do enjoy a lot of fiction

  125. I would love to look through this book! One of my favorites is little quilts all through the house. Thanks!

  126. Erin

    I’ve finally got a machine I can free motion on with ease so I’m loving Free Motion Quilting with Angela Walters and Natalie Bonners’ Beginners Guide to Free Motion Quilting.

  127. I’m really liking the Burda Style Sewing Handbook right now as I stitch for my little ones (and hopefully myself soon!) I’ve done a couple of quilts on traditional patterns – this book looks SO fun!!

  128. Jennifer

    I really love Modern Patchwork by Elizabeth Hartman. It’s so addictive–I just go from one quilt directions to another. LOVE it.

  129. Ooh this book is in my Amazn wish list! I have a zillion books but I just re-examined Eleanor Burns’s “Still Stripping After All These Years” and I swear she has the best tricks. I also love Material Obsession 2 for eye candy.

  130. Amy

    Choosing just one craft book is sooo hard for me, but it will probably be “The Crafters Companion”. Thanks for the chance to win!

  131. Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns 😉

  132. marta

    I love quilting books and magazins…I have a lot of them and even so is hard to decide….but lately I am interested in ‘modern quilting’ …that will be my favorite right now…thank you

  133. I own just a handful of books but my favorite book would be one that I don’t even own! It’s the Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns by Barbara Brackman. My local library has a copy and I keep checking it out. I renew it until they don’t let me renew it anymore 🙂
    Thank you for the giveaway!

  134. Christine Sherman

    I also want Quilting Modern!!

  135. I have so many! I love Elizabeth Hartman’s first book (and second, really), and I really really want Quilting Modern.

  136. I love Angela Walter’s books

  137. Ellen M.

    I like “Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing” (not quilting, but garment construction). Can’t wait to see the new Tula book. Thanks for the chance!

  138. Laura

    I love SUnday Morning Quilts!

  139. Kayla Yapuncich

    I love Quilting Modern. Thanks for the chance!

  140. My favorite quilting book is Machine Made Patchwork (the original Japanese version). It’s the book that inspired me to learn how to quilt.

  141. I love the new Patchwork, Please! book…It’s wonderful!

  142. Linda

    Sunday Morning Quilts. Thanks for the chance to win.

  143. Lisa Marie

    A recent purchase that I’m enjoying is “Scrap-Basket Beauties” by Kim Brackett.

  144. I love Aneela Hoey’s “Little Stitches!” Thanks for the chance!!

  145. I love Camille Roskelley’s books, especially for the photos!

  146. I think my favorite is the Fat Quarter Workshop, but I only have a small collection of books so far so don’t hold me to that 😉 Thank you for the giveaway, I’m totally interested in this book!

  147. Ah, this book is on my list of books to buy, so I would love a chance to win it first! the last quilting book I purchased was Free Motion Quilting by Angela Walters…it’s a good one!

  148. maggielou

    my newest book is Free Motion Quilting by Angela Walters

  149. I haven’t really purchased many quilting books, although recently I purchased two Kaffe Fasset quilt books and I love them!

  150. Candy Glendening

    Angela Walter’s quilting book! Love it!

  151. knkpdx

    Oliver & S. book for kids – great projects with perfect instructions.

  152. My new favorite is Hexagons Made Easy. Thanks!

  153. I like Heart-Felt Holidays {http://www.ashleysuzanne.com/heart-felt-holidays-review/}

  154. Sandi

    I’m also a fan of the Quiltmaker’s Gift, as well as the two Quilts From the Quiltmaker’s Gift books that show how to make the quilts in the book. I love that they feature quilts made by a variety of people, from 8 year old boys to 80 year old grandmas.

  155. Annie K

    That Dorky Homemade Look: Quilting Lessons From a Parallel Universe, by Lisa Boyer, is pretty darn hysterical.

  156. I really like the Sew U series. They are so basic but teach you how to expand on what they have given. Great!

  157. I love Zakka Style — it changed my sewing forever! Thanks for sharing such a great prize. I’d love a copy of this book!

  158. I love DIY magazine!

  159. MarciaW

    An oldie but still relevant: Lap Quilting with Georgia Bonesteel Both my mother and aunt cut their teeth on this book long before rotary cutters were invented

  160. Kate

    I really like the One Yard Wonder books. Thanks for hosting!

  161. Mishi Kichi

    I love kaffe’s……..Quilt’s again!!

  162. Emily Vardeman

    I like the 99 modern blocks book. I love this quilt by Tula Pink and would love to make it!

  163. I love The Quiltmaker’s Gift. It’s not a sewing book, but a lovely book for children of all ages. Thanks for the chance!

  164. My favorite quilt book is City Quilts. I’m still pretty new to the quilting thing so haven’t built up a book stash yet!

  165. Awesome giveaway! I love all books by Elizabeth Hartman!

  166. Monica

    My favorite book is Denyse Schmidt’s Modern Quilts Traditional Inspiration.

  167. Hmmmmm I don’t have a book I love, but I do love the Stitch magazine projects 🙂

  168. Rainy

    The only sewing book I own (right now!) is Last Minute Patchwork Gifts — I love it. but it would be great to have something more focused on quilting blocks.

  169. Shauna Trueblood

    I love Tula Pink’s first book

  170. Heather

    I love Angela Walters books! I have the first one and reference it all the time.

  171. bess

    fabulous giveaway!! my favorite sewing book right now is “the bag-making bible” – it’s amazing. 🙂 thanks for the chance to win!

  172. Lisa

    My husband just brought home a copy of Merchant & Mills Sewing book which I am really loving the simple patterns in right now!.. Thanks for the great giveaway, this one has been in my amazon cart since I saw it come out!!

  173. I like the books by Kim Brackett of Magnolia Bay Quilts. Thanks for sharing this awesome book.

  174. Oh I want to win this one! Fat Quarterly Shape Workshop for Quilters, love that book!

  175. Sam

    I like Tula Pink’s other book! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  176. I like “sew and stow” by betty oppenheimer– lots of cute little projects in there!

  177. Amber

    I am lusting after this book! I don’t have a favorite, but a quirky one I really like is Dare To Be Square by Boo Davis.

  178. The Quilters Bible is great. =) Thanks for a chance.

  179. My favorite book as of right now is Elizabeth Hartman’s Modern Guide to Patchwork, She is AMAZING!

  180. Marlena

    I love the 501 Rotary-Cut Quilt Blocks book by Judy Hopkins. Would love to win Tula’s book. Thanks for the chance!

  181. Adele

    Fantastic giveaway. I most often go to my Gee’s Bend quilt book for inspiration.

  182. Beulah @ Sowing Stitches

    I don’t have a favorite sewing/quilting book. But one of my favorite books is Jane Austin’s Sense and Sensibility.

  183. Oh, this is one of the best prizes!! Thanks! I love the book called “5500 Quilt Block Designs”!

  184. I’m in love with Tula’s other book {that I’m offering up in SMS’s giveaway day}. I find that you have to read, read, and re-read the words. Tula has some fantastic short-cuts

  185. I’m in love with Sunday Morning Quilts and Quilt Love. I’m a total quilt book addict! 🙂

  186. mean sarah jean

    the only book i have is scrap basket sensations by kimberly brackett. would love to have this one by tula pink!

  187. MelodyJ

    I like Sewing A Straight Line. It’s beginner friendly.

  188. ellisonlanequilts

    I’ve been dying to see that book in person so thanks for the chance to win! I also love my copy of Patchwork Please. It’s a great new book by Ayumi Takahashi if you haven’t seen it, definitely check it out. 🙂

  189. My favorite book is Kaffe Fassett’s Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts.
    Thanks for the give away.

  190. rachael

    Oooh, I’ve been wanting this book. Right now I’m still enjoying browsing through Tula’s first book – love seeing all of her fabrics together! Thanks for the giveaway!

  191. I have lots of favorite sewing/quilting books! Quilting Modern, Practical Guide to Patchwork, Pillow Pop… I just love getting inspired by all of the beautiful photographs in them 🙂

  192. When it comes to sewing patterns and ideas I’ve become an internet bookmark-a-holic. But nothing beats the feel of a real book in your hands! Each one is fabulous.

  193. jessie hansen

    Not a quilting book, but still a Sewing Book, I love the A is for Apron book by Nathalie Mornu. Don’t even use aprons but I love to make them!

  194. I love Sunday Morning Quilts. Thanks for the chance!