Dog Bed

I have this great book you may have heard of, its called “One Yard Wonders.” Its the same book that I made my Jewelry Travel Case/ Rollup from.

I had been eyeing the Dog Bed in it for a while and when I had to add something to a fabric order to get free shipping I added a yd of a meduim weight, chocolate brown, printed cotton.

I made it yesterday from start to finish. This was probably the fastest project that I have ever made and that is including the fact that I just had to go and make it harder on myself!

20120715-090749.jpg

The pattern in the book calls for just making a simple box (4 side panels and a top & bottom panel) and stuffing it. Well, I knew it had to be washable so I added 2 things. I made a muslin replica of the pattern and than stuffed that instead. Essentially, I made a pillow to fit inside.

20120715-091021.jpg

Than, I knew that I had to be able to easily take the pillow in and out, so I added an invisible zipper.

20120715-091151.jpg

The zipper ended up being being very visible but considering that it was my first invisible and I dont have an invisible zipper foot, I dont think it turned out too horrible. At least with it being the same color as the fabric, you dont even notice it…too much.

I would definitely make this again. It was super fast and super easy. And with the right fabric, could make some very cute gifts for the animal lovers I know.

🙂

Oh, Fabric is by Premier Prints and is called Best Friends. It is currently available at Fabric.com

1 Comment

Filed under Completed Projects

One response to “Dog Bed

  1. Anonymous

    This is really cute! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

