Harry Potter!!!!

I have been gone from my blog for quite a while. Its hard to have a full time job and be able to complete enough things to blog about. The latest thing keeping me away was Harry Potter. A special quilt for a special sister who graduated high school this past weekend.

I started on this back in January and finally finished it a week ago. It wasn’t a constant working on it, I did make a few other things in between the start and finish of this.  All of the blocks are 5″ and are all paper pieced. That was a new one for me. I have to say that I am not sure I will ever do it again.  I was definitely ready to be done with this quilt.

All of the square paper-piecing patterns were made from 2 different websites:

SewHooked

Owlsea’s Patterns

The design of the quilt as a whole (layout, placements, borders, and size) was by me. I ended up make it around 63″ x 67″. Large enough to curl up in while studying. I free-motion quilted the entire thing for the first time ever!!! I stippled the grey area (Kona Coal) and used echo quilting for the rest. You can’t see it in the pictures, but I used a swirly wavy design in the borders.

The fabrics are a huge assortment of various brands & qualities. There are a lot of Connecting Threads fabrics in there, along with a few quilt shop quality fabrics. There is also quite a bit of various walmart fabrics along with some “Essential Dots” that were given to me as a gift. All of the white that you see in the quilt is a glow-in-the-dark white that I found on eBay. I also found the star border that I used on eBay, it too is glow-in-the-dark. The backing is leftover Kona Coal, leftover star fabric, and a perfectly fitting owl print. It is by Timeless Treasures and took me forever to track down a 2 yd piece.

Between piecing and quilting,  I have used over 2500 yards of thread. Needless to say, it is a heavy quilt.

I hope that she loves it as much as I do because this one was hard to give away. Its a lot of fun and a lot of work, but it is a little sad that it isn’t laying across the back of my recliner!! 🙂

If you would like to see all if the individual squares up close than you can click here: Potter Squares

(Click on each picture to make it larger, use your back button to return to this page)

I plan on taking a bit of a break before jumping into anything else. I have a lot of scrap cleaning up and organizing to do after all of this paper piecing. Plus, its summer! (At least is is here!!) I plan on enjoying the bulk of it outside!

🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Finished Quilts, Harry Potter

9 responses to “Harry Potter!!!!

  1. Dana Hatmaker

    Do you have any ideas of how to make 12″ blocks of the red and the black Harry Potter fabrics? I’ve got the fabric but not sure of how to arrange my blocks or what colors to use for the sashing. Thx! Dana

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday | Sew Patched Up

  3. lindsey

    AMAZING! so impressed!

  4. I was thrilled when I saw your Harry Potter quilt pop up on Pinterest! You did a beautiful job!!

  5. Miranda

    AMAZING!!

  6. Karen

    Don’t you have a glowing picture you can post?

  7. Karen

    Your fan club is eagerly awaiting the start of the pirate quilt for Grayson!!!

Leave a Reply

