Marshall Quilt

FINALLY got my Marshall fabric in today and I LOVE it. I got it all washed and ironed and sat down tonight and cut out all of my pieces that I need from the templates that I made. I laid them all out on the floor to get an idea of what the M would look like and how big it will be.

Behold the 46″ wide M:

Doesn’t it look awesome! I can’t wait to start sewing it all together.It will end up being a bit smaller since all of my pieces have a quarter inch seam allowance (they are laid out end to end right now). I just hope I figured my seam allowances correctly for all of the triangular pieces. I have yet to venture to triangles (squares are a comfort) so we’ll see how it goes.

The M will be surrounded by a 5″ border of White to balance out the size. Then there will be either a small 1.5″ border of black or green to finish it off. Not sure what the back will be yet.

On a side note, I have been working on the spongebob quilt. Ordered some more squares and got those in yesterday. As soon as I get some more white for the sashing I can start piecing my squares together.

I also got a couple more 9 patch blocks done last night. I think those are going into the bin until I get my M done. It is a more interesting project to me than putting together 500 random squares!

🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Marshall Quilts

2 responses to “Marshall Quilt

  1. Nikie

    Better put that one up when we come visit…I’m afraid Eric would try to sneak it back with us.

  2. Karen O'Rourke

    Love it, it is going to be the most awesome quilt! Can’t wait to watch its progress!

Leave a Reply

