Atkinson Classmate Pattern

After finishing up my Guild Quilt last weekend, I started thinking about what I wanted to work on next. Well, turns out, April Fools Day helped me figure that out!

I was on Instagram perusing and I come across a post that someone had done about an April Fools Day sale at an online quilt shop. I seriously thought that it was an April Fools Day joke. The sale was for 35%!!! You don’t see that in the quilting world. With the price of cotton rising and fabric going with it, the most you see is a daily deal on some sites or 10% to 15% off sometimes until things go to clearance. This was 35%!!! I hopped on over to the website, Little Pink Rose Quilting, and started looking around very eagerly. Lo and behold, I found 2 Tula Pink “Hex on the Beach” quilt top kits!!!! These are made out of her “Salt Water” line and are no longer produced so finding one has been extremely hard. On top of that, they are a bit pricey when you do, but with 35% off? ย I did.

Hex on the Beach

Well, I don’t think that I really grasped what I was in for. I mean, these suckers are small. Look, I am not kidding:

Hex on the Beach Hexies

Sorry for the Alien hand. Anyway, there are over 1,000 of these in that box. So, after seeing them all, I decided that I needed something to pu them in. I mean, I can’t just go around carrying the box? That’s where the Atkinson Classmate comes in. Julie and I got this pattern quite a long time ago and while she whipped hers out, I procrastinated. Like always. I am the queen.

The classmate has clear vinyl pockets along with zippered pockets, along with lined pockets behind the pockets. I mean this thing is a workhorse! So, I picked out some of my HIGHLY coveted Tula Pink “Nest” (circa 2008) and got to work.

Atkinson Classmate 1

I didn’t take any pictures while sewing it up until I got to the binding. Those Clover Clips are fantastic for projects like this one where you can’t put pins thru the vinyl. I had some problems with skipped stitches, even after going up to a size 14 needle, and got so frustrated that I quit for the night. I went back to it the next morning, with a size 16 needle, and it was perfect. Sometimes you just have to step away.

In the picture below you can see that the left side has a small zippered vinyl pocket at the top. That has a lined pocket behind it with a pencil/scissors/seam ripper dividers below it. Behind that whole left side is a lined pocket. The middle is a huge zippered vinyl pocket that also has a lined pocket behind it. The far right side is 2 smaller vinyl pockets separated by stitching.

Atkinson Classmate 2

I don’t have a non-stick foot for my machine so I ended up using tissue paper as a buffer between the vinyl and the feed dogs. It was suggested in the pattern and it worked perfectly. On a side not, I LOVE Atkinson patterns. If you have never tried one you definitely should. They walk you thru every step with pictures when necessary. ย They make things like this non-overwhelming.

Partially folded:

Atkinson Classmate 3

The D ring on the right side of the picture is supposed to have a clasp on it. I didn’t have one and neither did Walmart so I am still trying to figure out how I want to do the closure. I may have to order a clip and just sew it onto the ring or maybe some ribbon or something. Still thinking about that one. Some people online have said that when it is full, the clip isn’t the best thing so it may be good that I didn’t have one.

Here it is completely folded up:

Atkinson Classmate 4

It even has a nifty carrying handle on top! Once I figure out my closure, I will be filling it up with Hexie’s and templates and lots of good sewing accessories. Plus, this will be fantastic to take on any sewing/quilting trips. Normally my notions end up in a ziplock baggie. :-)

It felt really good to get this done in pretty much a day. Now, I can mark that off my list and move on to other things. Zippered pouches, a Super Tote, a divided basket or two. I have a pretty long to-do list.

:-)

Jess

Linking up to Crazy Mom Quilts for “Finish It Up Friday“. Go check out all the finishes for the week!!

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Completed Projects, Not a Quilt, Sewing Projects

8 responses to “Atkinson Classmate Pattern

  1. Pingback: Work in Progress (WIP) Wednesday! | Sew Patched Up

  2. Wow what a great job! You are very resourceful! I am looking for a hexie project. Too bad I missed that sale. Looking forward to seeing how your hexie quilt comes out!

  3. Love the fabric choice!

  4. WOW!!!!!! I love how it turned out!! I would think a twill sort of ribbon would be a good way to close it. Tie it to the D-ring, and then tie the other end around the outer ring.That way it could be adjusted if it’s stuffed full? Just a thought!

    Great work! You’ve made me want to buy and make this pattern!

  5. Gorgeous fabric and terrific job! You will love it!

  6. That is gorgeous, the fabrics are really vibrant and just lovely.

  7. kaycie wiggins

    This is gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

