Simply Style Charming Stars

Another finish!! I finished this one up last weekend. The fabric line is Simply Style and the pattern is Charming Stars from the Moda Bakeshop. I really like the bakeshop. It’s a collection of submissions by us regular folks using Moda precuts (charm packs, jelly rolls, layer cakes, etc…)

20140326-171407.jpg
I have the backing in hand. Just need to get it sewn together and then it is off to Julie for quilting.

This quilt was a lesson in color values. There are some blocks that I love because the white stairs clearly defined and than there are others that you can’t see the star as well. That tells me that I should have maybe stuck with the more saturated charm squares and left out the lighter valued ones. Oh, well. It wouldn’t be fun if we didn’t learn something every time, right?

I have one or two more quilts ready to be put together into tops and than I think that will be it on quilts for a while. At least large ones. I haven’t been enjoying the big stuff as much lately as I have been the little stuff. Individual blocks, pouches, bags/totes, etc. I think I am going to work on the small things for a while. I already have a couple of bags I want to make, some makeup pouches, maybe get back into some of my Tula Pink modern blocks.

Oh, speaking of Tula Pink, look at what this girl had done…

20140326-172433.jpg
See that spiral goodness on the left side of the book? Yeah, I had that done. The last time that I used this book, I had to crease the binding and put something on it to hold the page down. No more! Staples for under $5. I already have another pile of heavily used books ready to go be cut off.

:-)
Jess

1 Comment

Filed under Finished Quilts

One response to “Simply Style Charming Stars

  1. That spiral binding idea is genius! Staples, here I come!

Leave a Reply

